Taiwan - U.S.
Business Forum
in the Midwest  

March 23-24, 2021

March 23-34, 2021


Watch the Live Stream

Join us for our Live Streamed Webinar on March 23 and March 24, 2021, from  9:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m.

Video Remarks

Don't miss out on this webinar

A timely and informative two-day “Taiwan-US Business Forum in the Midwest” webinar will take place on March 23 and March 24, 2021, from  9:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m. Central Time both days to encourage more business opportunities amid the restructuring of global high-tech supply chains and the expansion of markets for agricultural products and in the international food industry. As the United States’ 9th-largest trading partner and the 8th-largest market for American agricultural products in the world, Taiwan has strong trade and economic ties with the United States. With the ongoing relocation of global supply chains, more Taiwanese companies are looking for opportunities to bring their products and supply chains closer to their American customers. We hope to bring forth policy outcomes from the recent “Taiwan-US Economic Prosperity Partnership Dialogue,” jointly held by the Taiwan Ministry of Economic Affairs, Taiwan Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and the U.S. State Department, to deliver support for an open, democratic, sustainable and rules-based global business ecosystem to the state and local levels, where our businesses may thrive and benefit with our shared values.

Johnson S. Chiang, Director General, Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Chicago

What we do in this webinar

Panel Discussion

Taiwan-US Business Opportunities Amid Restructuring of Global Supply Chains


To facilitate an increase in US Food exports to Asia, “Taiwan, Gateway Market to the Asian Market” Webinar is an excellent opportunity to learn about Food Taipei and related topics to help you develop your steak in the global market.

Webinar Speakers/Panelists

Bi-khim Hsiao

Representative, Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office in the United States

Johnson Chiang

Director General, Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Chicago

Junior Hsu

National Policy Advisor to Taiwan President Tsai Ing-wen

Sen. Tammy Duckworth

U.S. Senator

Congressman Bryan Steil

U.S. House of Representatives

Congressman Bill Foster

U.S. House of Representatives

Congressman Steve Chabot

U.S. House of Representatives

Congressman Mike Gallagher

U.S. House of Representatives

Dr. Juan de Pablo

Vice President for National Laboratories, Science Strategy Innovation and Global Initiatives, University of Chicago

Hon. Suzanne Crouch

Lt. Governor of Indiana

Missy Hughes

Secretary and Chief Executive Officer, Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation

Hon. Adam Gregg

Lt. Governor of Iowa

Rupert J. Hammond-Chambers

President of the US-Taiwan Business Council

Peter Cleveland

Global Policy VP, Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company

Dr. Jay Lee

Vice Chairman, Foxconn Technology Group

Kyle Schulz

Executive Vice President of Business Development and Global Strategy

John Rossi

Vice President, Strategic Marketing, STMicroelectronics

Jeffrey Pizzola

COO/CFO, American Kenda Rubber Industrial Co., LTD

Vincent Wang

General Manager, APG Holding, LLC, Far Eastern Group

Leo Seewald

President, American Chamber of Commerce in Taiwan

Michael Stoker

Co-chair of the Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum of the Executives’ Club of Chicago

Jerry Lee

CEO, U.S. Acrylic, LLC

Jeffrey Donne

Director of Corporate Relations, Discovery Partners Institute

Hon. Ian Paul Steff

President & CEO, mySilicon Compass; former Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Global Markets and Director General of the U.S. and Foreign Commercial Service

Hon. Pete Hoekstra

Former United States Ambassador to the Netherlands

Dr. Mung Chiang

Dean, College of Engineering, Purdue University; Founding Director, Center for Tech Diplomacy at Purdue

Dr. Larry Diamond

Senior Fellow at Hoover Institution, Stanford University

Cecile Shea

Nonresident Senior Fellow, Chicago Council on Global Affairs

Mark Denzler

President & CEO, Illinois Manufacturers’ Association

Ching Ching Lin

Director, Taiwan Trade Center, Chicago

Edward Chen

Deputy Director General, Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in Chicago

Congressman Tom Tiffany

U.S. House of Representatives

Jerry Costello II

Director, Illinois Department of Agriculture

Thom Petersen

Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Agriculture

Mike Naig

Iowa Secretary, Iowa Department of Agriculture & Land Steweardship

Dorothy Pelanda

Director, Ohio Department of Agriculture

Christina Conlin

Co-chair, the Food and Beverage Forum, the Executives’ Club of Chicago; Partner, Baker & McKenzie, LLP

Doug Schroeder

Chairman, Illinois Soybean Association

Randy Romanski

Secretary-designee, Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Josh Hundt

Chief Business Development Officer & Executive Vice President, Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC)

Bruce Kettler

Director, Indiana Department of Agriculture

Jeffrey Phillips

International Trade Manager, Minnesota Department of Agriculture

Ron Tanner

Former Vice President, Specialty Food Association. President of Tanner Food Group

Stuart Green

Trade Promotion Project Manager, Taiwan Trade Center

Dave Shogren

President, U.S. International Foods, LLC

Paul Weiss

Liaison Manager, Food Export Association of the Midwest USA

David Headley

Trade Team Coordinator, Illinois Soybean Association

Jenny Yang

President, Phoenix Bean, LLC

May May Ng

Director, CK International Ltd.

Will Hsu

President, Hsu’s Ginseng Enterprises, Inc.

Webinar Schedule

Tue, Mar 23 : Day - 01
08:45 - 09:00

Video Remarks

  • Sen. Tammy Duckworth   Congressman Steve Chabot   Congressman Mike Gallagher   Hon. Suzanne Crouch   Hon. Adam Gregg  

09:00 - 09:10

Welcoming Remarks

  • Johnson Chiang  

09:00 - 09:10

Opening Remarks

  • Bi-khim Hsiao   Junior Hsu   Congressman Bryan Steil   Congressman Bill Foster   Dr. Juan de Pablo   Missy Hughes  

09:00 - 09:10

Opening Remarks

  • Mark Denzler  

09:10 - 10:55

Panel Discussion

  • Rupert J. Hammond-Chambers   Peter Cleveland   Dr. Jay Lee   Kyle Schulz   John Rossi   Jeffrey Pizzola  

09:10 - 10:55

Panel Discussion

  • Vincent Wang   Leo Seewald   Michael Stoker   Jerry Lee   Jeffrey Donne   Hon. Ian Paul Steff  

09:10 - 10:55

Panel Discussion

  • Hon. Pete Hoekstra   Dr. Mung Chiang   Dr. Larry Diamond   Cecile Shea   Mark Denzler  

10:55 - 11:00

Closing Remarks

  • Johnson Chiang  

Wed, Mar 24 : Day - 02
09:00 - 09:20

Welcome Remarks

  • Johnson Chiang   Ching Ching Lin  

09:00 - 09:20

Opening Remarks

  • Edward Chen   Congressman Tom Tiffany   Jerry Costello II   Thom Petersen   Mike Naig   Dorothy Pelanda  

09:00 - 09:20

Opening Remarks

  • Christina Conlin   Doug Schroeder   Randy Romanski  

09:20 - 10:55


  • Josh Hundt   Bruce Kettler   Jeffrey Phillips   Ron Tanner   Stuart Green   Dave Shogren  

09:20 - 10:55


  • Paul Weiss   David Headley   Jenny Yang   May May Ng   Will Hsu  

10:55 - 11:00

Closing Remarks

  • Ching Ching Lin  


Contact Us